EAST SUSSEX COUNTY COUNCIL

MINUTES of a MEETING of the EAST SUSSEX COUNTY COUNCIL held at COUNTY HALL, LEWES on TUESDAY, 27 JANUARY2015 at 10.00 am.

Present

Councillors Barnes, Belsey, Bennett, Bentley, Birch, Buchanan, Carstairs, Charlton, Clark, Daniel, Davies, Chris Dowling, Claire Dowling, Earl, Elkin, Ensor, Field, Forward, Galley, Glazier, Hodges, Keeley, Lambert, Maynard, O'Keeffe, Phillips, Pragnell, Pursglove, Rodohan, Scott, Sheppard, D Shing, S Shing, Shuttleworth, Simmons, Standley, Stogdon, St Pierre, Taylor, Tidy, Tutt, Ungar, Wallis, Webb, Whetstone and Wincott.

50 Minutes of last meeting

50.1 RESOLVED – to confirm the minutes of the meeting of the County Council held on 2 December 2014 as a correct record.

51. Apologies for absence

51.1 Apologies for absence were received from Councillors Blanch, Butler and Howson

52. Notice of Motion

52.1 The following motion was moved by Councillor Pragnell and seconded by Councillor Tutt:

Whilst acknowledging that this is the Government's decision, this County Council resolves:

- 1. To support the provision of a 2nd runway at Gatwick Airport, on the basis of the clear economic benefits to East Sussex and to insist on appropriate action being taken to provide the necessary infrastructure and mitigate any environmental or other negative impacts on the residents of East Sussex.
- 2. To agree that once the Government makes a decision that the Council actively engages further in the process to achieve its objectives.
- 3. On the related separate issue of flight paths, not to support a narrow, concentrated arrival flight path, and resolve that they are shared across multiple routes to provide rotating respite.
- 4. To request that Cabinet responds to the formal consultation expressing this view.

52.3 After debate, a recorded vote on the motion was requested and taken. The motion was CARRIED, the votes being cast as follows:

FOR THE MOTION

Councillors Barnes, Belsey, Bennett, Bentley, Birch, Carstairs, Daniel, Davies, Elkin, Ensor, Forward, Glazier, Hodges, Lambert, Maynard, Pragnell, Rodohan, Scott, Sheppard, Shuttleworth, Simmons, St Pierre, Taylor, Tutt, Ungar, Webb and Wincott

AGAINST THE MOTION

Councillors Buchanan, Charlton, Clark, Chris Dowling, Claire Dowling, Earl, Field, Galley, Keeley, O'Keeffe, Phillips, Pursglove, D. Shing, S. Shing, Standley, Stogdon, Tidy, Wallis and Whetstone

THE CHAIRMAN DECLARED THE MEETING CLOSED AT 11.27 am